Fussing Over Headlines? These 4 Sure-Fire Templates Will (Always) Work

Why complicate things when simple does the job?

Lipika Sahu
Practice in Public

--

Image: Pexels

When I started writing, the headline was a mere formality—something I had to do to publish the work.

It didn’t take much time to realize that I might as well have printed the stories, bound them, and dropped them into a well…because no one was reading. No surprises there.

But once I realized it, I pulled my socks over my head and got down to the grabbing business….eyeballs, I mean.

I sometimes took more time to decide on the headline than it took me to write the article. I was obsessed…so much that I wrote a book on headlines. Yeah.

But as they say, when you do something for a long time, you get a knack for it. So, after 100-150 publishings, I realized that there are some templates that never fail you.

They have all the ingredients that make a headline compelling for the reader to click. It’s not that I don’t experiment, but these are the ones that have a great track record performance-wise and help me much when I am time-crunched.

So, if coming up with a grabby headline takes up much of your time, these templates are life-savers…or, rather, time-savers.

--

--