Get Rid of Your Meditation Problems Once and for all

By Avoiding These Simple Mistakes

Prosper Ocheme
Practice in Public
2 min readOct 2, 2022

--

Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

Mindful living is not easy. Meditation is a very important part of the process.

You try to meditate, but you can’t. You are constantly hitting roadblocks in your mindfulness journey. Your mindset is all out of whack.

If you could just figure out how to get yourself in the right mindset, you can make a lot of amazing things happen in your life.

Most of my struggles with freelancing came from not paying attention to my mental well-being. I ignored mindfulness for a while. This led to months of self-sabotage, and a lack of progress.

When I started my meditation journey, I made some mistakes that made the process a lot more difficult than it needed to be. These are simple mistakes to avoid. Getting on top of them will save you time and energy.

Avoid these rookie meditation mistakes

Don’t expect immediate results

When I started meditating, I expected a quick windfall. I expected to feel the impact fast. When I didn’t notice any quick differences, I lost my enthusiasm.

Give yourself time and meditate for 3 months straight without any expectations. Stop expecting a magical change after 3 meditation sessions per week.

You must meditate every single day to start feeling the impact

Consistency in anything is important. The same can be said for meditation and mindfulness.

You can’t expect a change in your mindset when you only meditate twice a week. You may not like daily mediation, but you must do it.

Don’t overwhelm yourself with it, start small. When I started, meditating for only 5 minutes felt like a chore. I couldn’t do it, so I started with 3 minutes per day. My goal is to raise this gradually.

Don’t complicate it

Do your research. Look for meditation videos online. What works for you, and what doesn’t? Be open to trying new techniques until you find what works.

Meditation is not supposed to be a stressful or overwhelming process, but you do need to discipline yourself and be patient to reap the benefits.

And there you have it, my friends.

Meditation will help improve your mindset. Remember that your mindset is your greatest tool. Change within yourself gives way to sustainable external change.

--

--