Hold My Coffee, Internet.

I’m putting my procrastination on trial (and the judge is you!)

Areebah M. Javed
Practice in Public
4 min readJan 8, 2024

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Who in the world makes resolutions to complete them?

I must be from an outer space planet because all my resolutions somehow end up being stuff I told myself to do and by the time I start, we’ve reached the horizon of another year. A turtle’s pace is faster than mine now.

I fall in the category of — “Yesterday, I missed gym day. That’s 5 years in a row now.” Iykyk.

But hold on, I’m not here to normalize unachieved goals. No. I don’t wanna do that.

It’s unhealthy and unhealthy stuff is never self-care. Ever.

Which is why I should publicly commit myself to working out. Starting Today.

Finally, you see the progress I’ve made. I wanted to change the word to tomorrow. But consciously chose to correct it.

Here’s the confidential information needed for you and me to stick to our resolutions that I found from the burned books in Fahrenheit 451.

1. The problem: me, myself, and the master of incompletion

I used to blame everyone and everything for my lackluster achievements.

Teachers were too harsh, planets weren’t aligned, and squirrels stole my motivation (okay, maybe not that last one).

But the truth bomb finally dropped: I was the architect of my own incompleteness.

Many of us limit ourselves subconsciously. I shamefully admit that I did it consciously.

Turns out, my potential was trapped in a self-built cage of “meh.” Not anymore. Defiance is my new middle name, and that cage is getting a makeover.

First target: the habit of leaving things unfinished. Took me seven days of mental arm wrestling, but I’m finally facing this behemoth.

So I am after all, entirely up to me.

2. The strategy: operation 180° routine reshuffle

Sleep schedule? 180 degrees. Gone are the “nap until breakfast” days. Now, it’s lights out by 10 pm and sunrise greetings at 6 am.

School days were proof I could do this, even if my eyelids protest in fluent Italian.

Next, I made a timetable I’d follow. *Insert Chucky laugh*

I’ll probably ditch it faster than a free gym membership offer.

As of now, I am supposed to focus on physics, maths, and chemistry for my upcoming exam. But I am also planning to earn some cash through copywriting.

And both of that is clashing. How do we solve that?

I am the mastermind strategist who ultimately defeated the game boss in Xbox last year, needless to say, I can rely on my strategies. This suggests the solution to me — do what is needed.

It’s inevitable to catch up with my studies because I’ll prepare myself for the exam somehow. It’s routine for me to pull late-nighters.

So instead of doing all the things I’ve always done, let’s take a calculated risk, shall we?

3. The outcome: accountability arena

I am mentally prepared for a time I know will eventually come. And it’ll mean I’ll start considering my changed routine as a headache.

But if I don’t counterattack this preemptively, all the hard work will go to the gutter. Didn’t I tell ya I defeated the ultimate game boss in Xbox?

For which I know exactly what to do.

Past resolutions crumbled quicker than a sandcastle in a tsunami. “Not my cup of tea,” I’d whine, or “Whatever happens, happens.”

Humans, it turns out, thrive on fear of disappointing others. So, here’s my deal: You, my audience, are my safety net.

Two weeks into this article, and if I veer off course? Bam! This Medium account gets shut down faster than a politician’s Twitter after a gaffe.

Because when you lack a mentor, a self-imposed public execution is the ultimate motivator.

Let’s unlock our potential, people. Not doing so might not hurt the universe, but it’ll definitely hurt our curiosity to see what amazing things we can achieve.

To a month of new routines and (gulp) discipline! (One month seems less scary than six, right?)

The universe, in its infinite wisdom, even threw in an extra day this year for me to get good. Leap year blessings, yo!

--

--

Areebah M. Javed
Practice in Public

18 | Writing to level-up my productivity game - I own enough humor to deal with life | Twitter - @_A_Writes