Self-improvement | Stories

How a 3-Minute Teddy Roosevelt Speech Helped Cure My Fear of Failure

And forced me out of my comfort zone

Lochlan
Practice in Public
Published in
6 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Image provided via Leonardo AI

I’m a sucker for procrastination.

It lures me in, gives me a big dirty hug and holds onto me for hours. Then it throws me away and leaves me feeling shame and regret.

My perfectionism and procrastination made me miserable. Every time I tried to do something my fears would bombard me.

This week’s going to be different, I’d say to myself. Yeah, this time things are really going to change.

Spoiler alert: nothing changed. It wasn’t long before I fell back into my old ways and resistance prevailed.

Every. Single. Time.

That was until a speech I stumbled across completely changed my mindset.

The speech that sparked the fire

Recently, I heard a speech that hit me like a fat cat fired from a cannon.

I know what you’re thinking: Really? Another one of these boring speeches that spew the same nonsense? You’ve gotta be kidding.

Don’t worry, It’s not like that!

--

--

Lochlan
Practice in Public

0x Top Writer ✦ Psychology, Philosophy and Self-improvement ✦ GOATED content only