How Do You Accept Clients’ Huge Compliments When You Just Go By Your Gut Feeling?

Anna Itzel Cazita
Practice in Public
Published in
4 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Photo by Lidya Nada on Unsplash. Cropped by editor.

When was it ever a bad thing to hear how professional you are or how good you are at your job? My new social media client keeps texting me for advice about their brand. Half of the texts are more about giving me compliments. For some reason, all the compliments are making me uncomfortable.

Is that because I’m new in the industry or is it because I’m a woman?

Imposter Syndrome or Fake It Until You Make It?

Everyone who gets started online will have some level of doubt in themselves. Some choose to “fake it until you make it.”

Others try to find ways to grow by sharing what they are actually experts on. A territory that will not make them feel like fake experts. That is their own experiences and lives.

The funny thing about imposter syndrome is that it is more likely to affect high achievers. If you have some accomplishments that you are unable to accept you are quite likely to fall into this group.

Am I one of those? Yes, I am.

Not to go too deep into it, but I also think it’s the same reason why I burned out when I was 28 years old. High-achieving young women are the fastest-growing group in stress diagnosis statistics.

--

--

Anna Itzel Cazita
Practice in Public

I’ll show you how to build your high-quality content machine and still have time over💪 Subscribe to my Substack: bit.ly/3HMZRfr