How Fictional Characters Led Me to Smoke and How I Broke Free.

A charismatic thief and a troubled surgeon influenced my smoking habit.

Manav Tyagi
Practice in Public

--

Made using Microsoft Copilot.

On-screen or off, some people make smoking look appealing. Their influence spreads like ink in water, making the habit seem attractive.

“They add fuel to the fire of temptation, making smoking look like something we can’t resist.”

I fell for this influence and started smoking because of it.

[Reel Story] The 2 Kabirs of My Life!

The first Kabir entered my life in 2004 when I was unaware of his impact on me.

A charismatic and cunning thief, played by John Abraham, in the movie Dhoom, known for his daring heists, suave demeanour, long hair, and frequent smoking, which added to his rebellious allure.

This character had such a strong influence on me that when I smoked for the first time, three years after seeing the movie, I could still hear the background music and envision his walk, the cigarette in hand like a lingering echo of his presence.

Sometimes I still feel like I unknowingly mimic his mannerisms. (Kudos to the director and actor for creating such a powerful character.)

--

--