How I Built My Brand (Without Quitting the Day Job)

The simple version

Eve Arnold
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

It’s not your ambitions it’s the time horizons that need changing.

January 1st, 2018 diary entry: Make $1 million dollars this year.

You see, making $1 million isn’t out of reach, but within 365 days without any prior business experience or success, that was my issue. It was the time horizons I set for myself time and time again that would bite me in the butt.

And honestly, it destroyed my self-confidence. It wasn’t until I started getting serious about sustainable growth that things started to change for me.

I hated my 9–5

I was managing a team, in a programme that I didn’t care much for and it felt like every day was a total slog. It was an hour's commute each way, I didn’t feel like I was learning and I constantly found myself uninterested.

I’d had bouts of this for a few years, and each time I’d turn to get-rich-quick schemes as my way out. Of course, none of them worked and I was left more and more disappointed.

Something snapped in 2018 and decided instead of a drastic u-turn of quitting my job and going all-in, all I needed was a job I liked.

--

--