How I Used Fate To My Own Advantage

Life confronts us with challenges to make us grow.

Elias Bsaibes
Practice in Public
2 min readSep 7, 2024

--

Photo by Luke Miller on Unsplash

I had surgery two days ago and I’m unable to get out of my bed for the next three weeks.

Normally, someone in my situation might feel disappointed and take a break from self-improvement.

But that’s not me.

I’m turning my obstacle into an opportunity.

I told myself that since I’ll be in bed for a while and won’t be able to exercise, I’d take advantage of the time by reading plenty of books on philosophy and mindfulness.

I decided that I was going to finally become an expert in these fields.

This was a goal I had before but kept putting off.

Fortunately, God gave me another chance to build enough philosophical knowledge and become better at meditating.

I can’t exercise my body, so I will exercise my mind.

I’m currently writing this from my bed. (My neck hurts because my position is uncomfortable lol)

Remember,

It’s not our circumstances that define us, but how we choose to respond to them.

Choose your thoughts wisely.

Reflective question: What challenges are you currently facing that could become opportunities?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I just released a brand-new guide, and you can claim it for free!🎉

📌28 Days Reflection Guide (A powerful tool with daily prompts to help you gain deeper insights into yourself and the world around you.)

--

--