How This 1 Quality Can Transform Your Writing & Life?

My life transformed when I acknowledged the abundance in my life

Nipun Iyer
Practice in Public
4 min readAug 31, 2024

--

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Fear has been the strength of humans. Let me explain.

The fear of survival pushed man to evolve from hunter-gatherers to where we are today. It is due to this fear and survival instinct, that our average life expectancy and general well-being have improved exponentially. Yet, this fear factor is now leading to increased stress and depleting mental and physical health.

It all comes from the scars of the past and worry of the future. And in all of that, we miss a critical aspect of our lives called the Present. We forget the wonderful life we have got. We forget the innumerable happiness God has given us. And we forget how our lives are the dreams of millions!

If you are reading this, chances are that you have a stable internet connection, a good education, and some spare time to do what you love (including doom-scrolling). Pause a moment and understand how much of that is a privilege when there are so many wars being fought, rights being curbed, and inflation crippling economies!

Gratitude is a superpower; It’s the highest form of self-awareness

Your life is a dream of many

We all have goals that we want to achieve. In a capitalistic society, it’s a race against time. Like a hamster on a wheel, we keep running and running and running with no end in sight. The only difference between a normal race and life is:

No one’s running the same race in life

The start points are different, the endpoints are different. Maybe there’s no end goal at all. Maybe it was all about running to the best of your abilities and looking at the scenery around!

I acknowledge my privilege. I never had to work hard to make ends meet since my father had done it to provide for our family. No matter the problem, my parents left no stone unturned for me. Hence, I had a lot of things much easier than my previous generations.

The benefit of acknowledging your privilege is that it makes you conscious and aware and helps you take leverage of the benefits you are getting.

Privilege is not wrong; Wrong usage of Privilege is

I used my privilege to study well and make it to the top institution for MBA in my country which no one in my family had ever done. It was a victory of 3 generations!

Take a moment. pause. And list down all that you have got that the world today is fighting for. Know that you’ve got much more than you can ask for. Know that you can give much more than you can think of.

The universe is a magnifier of your values

It’s surreal but it’s true.

The world is the way you see it. You believe it’s wicked and selfish. You’ll find daily examples of the same.

If you believe that it’s a generous place then you’ll find daily examples of it.

According to Harvard Research, the placebo effect has been shown to be effective because the human mind is a great phenomenon. Manifestation is real and you can use it as a superpower.

I have seen the optimists eventually make it through life and lead a happy life no matter the situation and the vice-versa is true for a pessimist. The universe works in mysterious ways to make your beliefs into reality.

Hence cultivate the habit of gratitude and kindness. The universe will magnify and give it back to you.

Gratitude helps you break the chain of past and future and helps you stay in the present. It makes the present the most powerful phase in your life.

And it is in the present when we are the strongest and gratitude helps you identify it.

How Gratitude transformed my life

My life was monotonous. And it was becoming painful.

Work. Eat. Sleep. Repeat.

My health was getting worse by the day. My sleep pattern was non-existent and more importantly I was unhappy. This was the life I wanted and now I was hating it.

I’m thankful to my life partner and my parents who made me realize what I had with me and how it was simply the most critical thing one can have:

A strong support system

I restarted my meditation routine and prioritized my health. Those 10 minutes of meditation transformed my life to the point where I simply do it every day.

They make me powerful as I become more centered and self-aware. I started thanking God every day for the abundance he had given to me in life.

This not only affected my improvement in all spheres of life but I also got time to rekindle my long-lost passion i.e. Writing.

I started writing after 4 long years and it was simply cathartic. I have been writing for the past 4 months and I scaled to 600+ followers on X and now have started to write on Medium as well.

Simply put: My life has transformed!

I now have an anchor that helps me stay steady during the tsunami of problems that life throws upon us!

The simplest way to start practicing gratitude is:

Write what made you grateful for today before you go to sleep

Trust me. This will change the way you look at life.

Life was never about the bigger things; it was just a collection of small joys of life.

Writing originates from the abundance of thoughts, ideas, and life

So, what are you grateful for today?

I grew on X to 600+ followers in 4 months through relatable storytelling and have captured it here.

Do share your views on Gratitude in the comments below

Until next time, Ta-Da!

--

--

Nipun Iyer
Practice in Public

500+ followers on X in 3 months. I write on Personal Growth, Fitness, and Work Life Balance. Ask me anything, my answer will be meditate!