How to Build a Reliable Writing Routine

Overcome distractions, banish procrastination, and conquer perfectionism — before your writing dreams slip away for good.

Ismael Adekunle
Practice in Public
5 min read2 days ago

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

In 2022, I joined Write of Passage, a cohort-based course for beginner writers, hoping to overcome my biggest challenge: consistently writing publicly.

As a trained engineer, I’ve always considered writing one of my major weaknesses. Before joining the cohort, I had never written anything online. I didn’t know how to write or stay consistent in a world of distractions.

Lack of motivation, overwhelming daily tasks, and unexpected disruptions can throw you off course. Missing just one writing session can quickly become days or weeks of inactivity.

I struggled to stay consistent with writing after the cohort for two years until I recently realized the key to writing consistently.

The secret to consistent, daily writing is having an accountability partner.

How a Writing Partner Transformed My Productivity and Growth On Medium

While reflecting on my writing output on Medium, I realized that I wasn’t publishing enough articles and needed to write more consistently.

My perfectionism often leads to over-edit. This very article is already in its fifth revision. If I’m not confident in the topic, I procrastinate and delay completing it.

Reflecting on my past, I realize that having an accountability partner significantly impacted my progress when learning new skills like reading, swimming, and public speaking.

Recognizing that my inconsistency in writing could also be addressed through accountability, I joined the free ‘Start Writing Online’ community on Skool (see image below). I posted to see if anyone would be interested in joining me for a writing challenge with built-in accountability.

Although several fellow writers expressed interest, none attended the meeting to discuss the accountability structure.

I didn’t give up and persisted by sending follow-up messages. Fortunately, I found a willing writing partner in my home country, which meant she was available in the same timezone as me — a very convenient arrangement.

We agreed to meet online every Monday to Thursday at 4:45 PM, and this routine has led to my most productive month on Medium, both in terms of published content and new followers.

Diagram by Ismael Adekunle

James Clear’s take on accountability in atomic habits

One of the most valuable lessons I’ve learned about productivity is the importance of having an accountability partner. James Clear touches on this in his book Atomic Habits, emphasizing that having an accountability partner reinforces your habits. Clear wrote:

Knowing that someone is watching can be a powerful motivator. You are less likely to procrastinate or give up because there is an immediate cost. If you don’t follow through, perhaps they’ll see you as untrustworthy or lazy. Suddenly, you are not only failing to uphold your promises to yourself, but also failing to uphold your promises to others.

This principle rang true in my life as I realized that with someone keeping me accountable, I’m less likely to back out, give up, or procrastinate because I don’t want to disappoint my partner. I show up whether I feel like it or not.

Even for this article, I have an accountability writing partner on the other side of the video meeting call. I was tempted to skip the writing session because I didn’t feel like writing. Yet, here I am, proving the power of accountability by showing up and writing.

How a reading partner transformed my approach to books

In 2021, I struggled to maintain a reading habit, so I joined an online coworking platform, Focusmate.

Focusmate pairs you with an online partner for timed, distraction-free work sessions, helping you stay accountable and focused on your tasks. However, there were downsides:

  • I was paired with random people worldwide, many of whom didn’t share my goals.
  • Before some sessions, when I didn’t feel like working, I often canceled at the last minute.

A significant turning point came when I met an Indian partner who was also reading during the scheduled working session. He suggested we exchange WhatsApp numbers and schedule a daily Zoom meeting to read together.

This daily commitment transformed reading from a struggle into a habit, and over time, I found myself improving not only in consistency but also in the complexity of the books I could tackle. This experience was not limited to reading; the same principle worked wonders in public speaking.

Building public speaking confidence through daily practice and peer feedback

Similarly, we had practice sessions every weekday when I joined UltraSpeaking, a cohort-based course for people learning public speaking. During one of these breakout sessions on Zoom, I gave several two-minute speeches that went exceptionally well.

When we returned to the main Zoom room, my peers praised my performance.

The host, familiar with my consistent participation, joked about my dedication. He said I was a veteran at attending these practice sessions because I always showed up every weekday. He joked that whenever he checked his e-mail, he saw me booking practice session slots weeks in advance.

Like my reading habit, my success in public speaking came from consistent practice and accountability.

Critical lessons for finding an accountability partner for your writing goals:

  1. Join online writing communities, like the example above, with me joining the Skool community, and send a broadcast message asking if anyone would be interested in being an accountability partner. Don’t give up after the first or second try — be persistent.
  2. You can use online accountability platforms like Focusmate, which is how I found my Indian reading partner.
  3. You can also use Reddit, Facebook, or other online communities.
  4. You should look for someone who shares your goals, is dedicated to regular meetings, and has a schedule that conveniently aligns with yours.
Diagram by Ismael Adekunle

Reflection

In summary, consistency, supported by an accountability partner, is critical to success. Start today by finding someone who shares your goals, and see how this partnership can transform your writing.

Once you start a new habit or skill, like writing, having an accountability partner helps you stay consistent until it becomes part of your identity.

As you meet with your partner regularly, you’ll eventually reach a point where you no longer rely on them to keep you on track. You will have embraced your identity as a writer.

This is precisely what happened to me when I began meeting with my friend from India. Over time, I no longer needed those meetings to maintain consistency because writing became integral to my identity.

The ultimate goal is to reach a point where consistency is natural and ingrained in your identity without needing external pressure.

If you need help to write consistently:

  1. Don’t wait.
  2. Find an accountability partner today and see how much progress you can make in just one month.
  3. Share your experience in the comments — I’d love to hear how this approach transforms your writing journey.

Do you want to stay in touch? Join my E-Mail List.

--

--