I Said Yes. It Was a Terrible Mistake.

I welcomed uncertainties by saying yes

thi_thinker
Practice in Public
3 min readMar 18, 2024

--

Pic credits: cottonbro studio (PEXELS)

A yes to too many little things led me to welcome uncertainties in life.

A few weeks before I was writing about my problems with desires and comfort. I was facing problems with being disciplined and setting up a good routine for my writing.

After experimenting and practicing a lot I have created a routine that helped me to get rid of my desires, get out of my comfort zone, and write more.

I have been writing consistently since then. Then I faced another problem that could hamper my consistency.

I was saying yes.

I was welcoming uncertainties by saying yes.

If my friend asked me to join his friends circle for a small chat, I said yes.

If my manager asked me to shift from one city to another for an optional business requirement. I said yes.

My friends were getting married. I said yes to all of them and began attending their marriage.

Saying yes to too many things can be a good thing if you are not obsessed with anything in life.

Too many yeses often yield nothing.

The more you say yes, the more uncertain your routine becomes

I was welcoming new tasks into my day. Which meant I couldn’t focus on one thing. My time was spent across multiple things.

I spent 2 weeks without much of writing anything. I haven’t written any blog since then. When there were no more yeses to say, I got free, and I got back to my routine. That’s when I began writing this draft for you.

Saying yes is not just a problem when you start something new. It’s also a big problem when you have grown and become a king of whatever field you are in.

pic credits: thi_thinker

I remember reading this story of a YouTuber from Steven Bartlett’s book.

Once there was a YouTuber in the UK who had 3 million subscribers. He was growing well. He was the king of YouTube at that time.

He became so big that he had many opportunities. He said yes to many of them. He got an opportunity to start a fighting Channel, a gaming channel, a football channel, a second football channel, and loads of gambling channels. He took all of those opportunities by saying yes.

He also got an opportunity to move to another platform called Twitch. He took that opportunity. He lost focus, and he slipped slowly. He was losing his ability to reach people, his message, and his authenticity.

Result?

From being the king of YouTube at his time to being someone who was texting Steven asking for a loan because his whole team had left him.

Steven diagnosed that moment and realized it was in the moment when Temptation was highest, he should have made the toughest decision which was to focus on one thing.​

Losing focus should be a sin.

The reason why Steven Bartlett noticed this is because his mother made the same mistake repeatedly during his childhood.

One business she started, was a restaurant business that went remotely well. Then someone on the streets told her that a real estate agent was doing better.

She decided to do both by spending 50% of her efforts on the restaurant and 50% on the real estate business.

Result?

The restaurant business fell apart as her competitors were giving 110% on each of them.

Focus plays an important part in compounding irrespective of which phase you live in.

Saying yes may be a good thing to grow but be mindful of what you are saying yes.

Who you want to become demands your attention and focus.​

Who you are now wants to avoid distraction.

To be obsessed,

be focused.

To read more of my posts:
Subscribe to my newsletter:
https://thi-thinker.ck.page/
My LinkedIn Profile:
https://www.linkedin.com/in/yashar-arafath-a50399104/

--

--

thi_thinker
Practice in Public

Talks about Obsession | Personal Goals | WRITING | HABITS| Life | Finding Your Why, Passion | Self help | Subscribe: https://thi-thinker.ck.page/