I Started Writing 10X More Irresistible Headlines Once I Stopped Believing These 3 Writing Myths

Myth #2. Don’t sound clickbaity

Francis Ekwunife
Practice in Public
2 min readAug 29, 2024

--

Photo by Leslie Jones on Unsplash

My headlines used to suck.

And they still suck.

But they got 10X more irresistible once I stopped believing these 3 writing myths.

Let me show you.

Use ‘How to’ instead of ‘How I’

In this age of AI, we’re flooded with more information than we need.

Don’t add to this information flood.

Instead of just writing generic stuff, show us your transformation. How have you improved? What are some of your achievements? And how did you get there?

My headline is a perfect example of this. My headlines used to suck. But when I stopped believing 3 writing myths, I started writing killer headlines.

How I do it:

  • I use more ‘I’ in my headline
  • I share why I believe or hate something
  • I write headlines about my transformations/improvements

You have more authority by writing from your personal experiences.

Don’t sound clickbaity

Every chicken writer complains about sounding clickbaity.

But the truth is you won't get read if you don’t stand out. And besides a headline is only clickbait when you don’t deliver on the promise.

This writing game is about gaining attention and keeping it. Don’t do that and you’ve failed.

But I won’t lie. I used to be afraid of sounding clickbaity. But I read an article by Tim Denning and he crushed all fears. And that’s when I started writing killer headlines.

What I do:

  • I copy the format of headlines that have gone viral
  • I add power words to my headlines
  • And make it look uncommon

If you’re afraid of sounding clickbaity, you won’t grow.

Your headline should be general

‘Write your headline to fit everyone’ is the worst writing advice ever.

And that’s because if you write your headline to fit everyone, no one will click on it and you won’t get read.

Your headline should be for a specific audience if you want it to be irresistible.

And better yet, it should solve their particular problem.

My headlines got 10 times better when I understood this.

The idea is to:

  • Pick a particular audience you want your headline to attract
  • And show them how you can solve their specific problem

A specific headline will make you stand out.

To finish

No one will read your story if they’re captivated by your headline.

So learn how to craft one that they find irresistible.

That’s how you win in this writing game.

What was your favourite myth? Tell me the in comments.

Get my free email course and join 36 others growing their newsletters now!

--

--

Francis Ekwunife
Practice in Public

Posts about: Self-improvement, writing online, and growing your newsletter. Free newsletter growth course: https://blogger-16.ck.page/4bb6a8ba72