I Tried to Hint to Her That I Liked Her

All I got was a neutral reaction and confusion.

Dmitry | Relationships Guide
Practice in Public
2 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Author’s image generated by MidJourney AI

That was 15 years ago.

It was the moment I could have lost the most valuable thing in my future life.

Losing it before anything even started.
That’s doubly painful.

Desperate, I went home and entered a chat.

I had already announced my intentions among my circle of male friends.

They greeted me like a hero.

But I had sad news for them.

Silence fell in the group.

A few minutes later, I received a private message.

His name was Misha.

A friend of a friend. We barely knew each other.

  • “How did it go?” he asked.

I described the whole situation.

  • “So, you didn’t say it directly?” Misha was astonished.
  • “No, what’s the point?”
  • “Get your ass up, go to her, and say it directly!”

Misha was a bit of a playboy but had more experience with girls than I did.

I tried to argue about the futility of the idea.

I realized I had nothing to counter with. I said:

  • “Well… okay, I’ll go to her tomorrow and try.”

The next day came.
There I was again, on the threshold.

Officially we were friends.
I didn’t want to risk that level of relationship.

I didn’t want to reveal everything right away.
I came without flowers.

After an hour of friendly conversation, we ended up on the couch.

Awkward silence…

“I like you,” I said in a trembling voice, slowly moving closer to her lips.

In my head, that moment lasted an eternity, expecting her to pull away at any minute.

But that never happened.

We’ve been married for 15 years now.

Misha was right.

When I got home, I expressed my heartfelt thanks to him.

That was the last time I heard from him.

A random person…
Appeared in our lives just for a moment, to join them forever.

We weren’t close enough to intentionally seek this person out.

I will always remember him.
And his lessons:

  • Always speak clearly and precisely about what you want.
  • Don’t assume others’ reactions if you haven’t clearly heard them.
  • Always see things through to the end.

Bonus

Why didn’t my wife react the first day?

I asked her later; it was her first experience, and she simply didn’t understand my intentions.

Such a beautiful story could have ended so foolishly.

Thank you for reading!

If you liked the article, you can also:

--

--

Dmitry | Relationships Guide
Practice in Public

Relationships Coach ❤️‍🩹 Transform your relationships into a fulfilling connection 🌿 A data-driven, scientific approach forged in 15-year marriage 🧬