If You Want to Be Brilliant, You Have to Be Bad Occasionally

The balance of all elements of life

Eve Arnold
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Francis carcassi on Unsplash

It’s safe to say that most of us want to be brilliant in all domains of life.

I would love to be on top of the washing, for the kitchen to be pristine, to be unconcerned about my eating habits, to have an exercise regime, to be a pleasing way through my to-do list and have time to write but there is a simple truth.

A truth that is hard to admit. But it’s this:

There is simply not enough time or energy for that to be true.

Right now, it’s 6:21 am. I leave for work in 40 minutes. As I type, I’m acutely aware for the fact that the dishwasher needs unloading, and the sides need wiping, I could probably do with chucking some washing in the washing machine and my car is filthy.

But, I must choose. And likely, you must choose too.

When did ‘all and everything’ become the ambition?

I’m trying to pinpoint when this became the ambition.

To be good at everything, all the time, forever. Maybe at school. Maybe when juggling nine subjects at school and trying to be sufficient in all of them.

--

--