If You’re Sitting There Thinking ‘I Don’t Have a Niche’ Read This

The secret sauce to writing on the internet

Eve Arnold
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Zach Rowlandson on Unsplash

I found my niche after writing on the internet for 2 years.

Yep, 2 years. I hopped between writing about careers, about the world of work, about being a graduate. It went on for months. Well, actually, years.

I would literally write my thoughts onto the page.

I’d usually be frustrated by something at work (corporate jargon, unproductive meetings, people so slimy you’re barely able to shake their hand) you know, the list goes on. And then I’d write about it.

For a long time, it was just a rambling. But then things changed.

Until I had an article go viral

Oh, it was the most peculiar experience.

It was early January, the Christmas holidays and I looked at my Medium stats (I was obsessed with checking them at the time) and saw that things had changed, well actually they’d x10'd overnight.

Convinced that this was a blip and something must be wrong with the stats page I closed it and moved on.

The next day I returned, hoping that Medium had fixed the bug and I could go back to my 10 views a day but no, to my surprise…

--

--