It Took Being Naked With Strangers To Get More Comfortable With Myself.

I swore I would never do such a thing. But I did, and it was actually wholesome.

Elora Indran
Practice in Public

--

Image generated by AI on Freepik.com

I’m sure my friends think of me as a prude, though maybe they’re too nice to say it.

I’m the Christian girl with conservative values. I often skip songs with expletives and I kick up a fuss about showing too much skin.

But when I went to Japan for the first time in my life, I was determined to immerse myself culturally. That included immersing myself naked into an onsen (hot spring with public bath facilities.)

It terrified me.

But God did make Adam and Eve naked.

So who am I to judge?

Outdoor area of an onsen | Image generated by AI on Freepik.com

I did my research and picked an onsen which was a local gem with over 4000 positive reviews. It was clean, beautiful and had various facilities within to try.

Still, the moment I stepped into the female locker room, I felt super out of place. It was full of Japanese ladies of all ages, from young women in their twenties to old shrivelled ladies in their eighties.

--

--

Elora Indran
Practice in Public

I find whimsical stories in the most ordinary things.