Minnesota Politician was arrested after she threw a live Tarantula at her Tenant

She claims to have gently tossed it towards her….

Sohaib Waheed
2 min readJul 1, 2024

Marisa Simonetti, 30, who is running for the Minnesota County Board, was arrested after alleged charges against her for throwing a Tarantula at her tenant.

Marisa Simonetti ( isn’t she just a ball of sunshine ^-^ )

Simonetti explains that she had rented her tenant, Vasquez, a room in her five-bedroom house through Air BnB, but after a string of various incidents, Simonetti ultimately canceled her reservation.

Simonetti quotes,

“She was in my house less than two weeks before she started sending me double-, triple-paragraph long texts and yelling at people on the phone at 10:30 at night for an hour”

She began to think that Vasquez might be a threat to her and her son. Simonetti also accused Vasquez of threatening to ruin her political campaign through her campaign website.

Things eventually escalated, and Vasquez refused to evacuate the property after her time was up. Instead of packing up her things and proceeding to leave, Vasquez barricaded herself in the basement of the house and shut herself there.

Simonetti claims that she called the authorities and informed them about Vaquez’s trespassing, but they did not take any immediate action. So to take matters into her own hands, Simonetti went to the nearest pet store and bought a live tarantula.

Simonetti says that she didn’t throw the live tarantula but gently tipped it towards her. “I’m not a physically violent person, and I watched the movie Home Alone growing up, and I was, like, you know what, this is such a strange situation,” Simonetti said. “If I’m scared or hurt, I try and make jokes. And I was so scared, I was just like, I didn’t know what to do, and so, yeah, I got the spider.”

Simonetti was released on Monday and Vasquez had already moved out before her arrival. She says that she will continue to stand in the upcoming elections, and as a conservative, she promises to “do more, with less.”

More from me:

A Book Review:

--

--