Motherhood and Productivity: A New Mom’s Guide to Find Zen

Mothers, do you find yourself juggling tasks when your baby is glued to you?

Kiran Yadav
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

A mother knows there is nothing like productivity in motherhood. Your child always has different plans than yours—they never align!

So, being a rookie mother myself, I tried to plan out my day, block calendars, list out tasks, and binge-watch all productivity videos. Nothing worked, and I achieved nothing except perfecting my baby burping technique!

My baby is a Velcro baby. She takes naps but only on me! Now, how the hell can anyone get anything done when your baby is glued to you? My baby’s unpredictable schedule left me feeling frustrated and anxious.

When I brought her home I had no plans. For the first two months, I didn’t do any schedule. My whole day was dictated by her routine. If she wanted to play at 3 am, I let her play, if she wanted to sleep for five hours during the day, I didn’t deny it. Gradually, her natural circadian rhythm began to emerge, providing some structure to our days.

Now, I thought I could resume work as Mama needs to pay bills. But oh boy! Babies are the most deceiving creatures ever!

She started sleeping late and waking up early. Always in need of my constant…

--

--

Kiran Yadav
Practice in Public

Uncovering my niche, exploring genres, making meaningful contributions along the way