Photo by Jason Briscoe on Unsplash

My 90-pound weight loss started after I stopped believing these 3 comforting lies

Lakeshia Felton
Practice in Public
Published in
7 min readOct 2, 2022

--

I didn’t believe there was a problem

I’m a foodie. Man, who am I kidding? I was a glutton. I lived to eat. I ate all the wrong foods, all the damn time. The popular TV show, ‘My 600 Pound Life’ was one of my favorites. It was easy to justify my ever-increasing weight. At least I wasn’t that big. Or so I thought.

The people showcased were prisoners in their bodies. A body that was 4 or 5 times the size of the average person. Many of them were not able to take care of themselves without assistance. Due to their abnormal size, they were often confined to the home. Mobility is difficult when you carry an exorbitant amount of weight.

Each episode featured a morbidly obese person’s attempt to lose weight. They set out on a journey to be healthier. For many, the weight was a barrier that kept them from living full lives. Lives where they were independent and able to work and take care of themselves.

Dr. Jonathan Nowzaradan is a doctor that specializes in weight loss techniques for people weighing over 600 pounds. Considered high risk due to their large size, Dr. Nowzaradan laid out the diet plan to help get their lives back on track.

The show was entertaining. All the drama, triumphs, and failures that make up a…

--

--