“Roaring Heritage: Exploring the Land of Lions”

Tracing the footsteps of Gir’s mighty predators.

Bhargavvaghasiya
Practice in Public
4 min readJul 14, 2024

--

“Those who protect and save other animals lead the way in protecting and saving humanity and earth.
~ Anthony Douglas Williams ~ inside the divine pattern.

https://trailblazertours.com/domestic_pages/asiatic_lion_lodge.asp

Finally, the time came, to walk towards the destination I wanted, and to visit the places that I was thinking about!!

I was heading towards the northern part of my state- Gujarat, the region called Saurashtra, which can be broken down into two parts, ‘saur’ which refer to the sun, and ‘Rastra’ means nation or Region, Therefore “Saurashtra” can be interpreted as “ land of the sun”

I rode the bus heading towards the Saurashtra, which usually takes 12–14 hours to reach there, so just slept On the bus and woke up and got down to your town there, moreover like that.

I was usually fascinated by lions and when people talk about it, their story of seeing “The king of beasts” The lion that I am talking about is actually in the jungle area where they are freely moving around with their family.

And here I would like to admit the specific region where we can see Asiatic lions, the people living in that area are brave enough to avoid those trouble-making situations when they encounter them. And those are the people who really know the value of the preservation of forests and deeply understand the importance of it.

After long hours of ride, I finally got down to one of our relative's house, since we do not often see them on behalf of my parents I took charge of meeting them and spent some time with them, after all those events I went to my uncle’s house, to meet them and specifically see those “Golden beast’s”, they mentioned me usually evening time is best for seeing them, and they have one farm beside the jungle, that’s they often see them and usually hear their roar during evening and night.

Here time came to head towards the jungle we crossed multiple farmlands, we walked for minutes, and what? I show “Lion Mates” a few meters away from me, It was a breathtaking and wonderful moment for me,
The lion's powerful presence commands respect, it is eye piercing with a calm and intense gaze. My heart was on adrenaline rush mode, with steady pupils, it was thriller experience for me.

https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lions_at_Gir_Forest_National_Park_%282015%29.jpg

Crazy me without thinking of anything running After them to took one picture and captured that moment on my phone, and suddenly that lioness turned around, My uncle scolded me and mentioned we were lucky enough because they were not hungry during that time. And in the end, I captured some of the blurry images. The closest distance from them was 20ft, and it was an unforgettable moment for me.

Then we got back home, after seeing the beautiful moment on The horizon where the sky tenderly meets the land, what an Enchanting moment was that I felt blessed. My uncle mentioned me usually people go there to see them and not everyone is Lucky enough to see them but the first time, I got a chance to see them.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/desert-sunset

That brought me internal happiness with a profound sense of satisfaction.

We came back home from the farm, had my dinner, and after a few talks with my brother there, I had a deep sleep in cold, cozy weather. It was like a dream coming true for me and once in a lifetime moment.

Afterwards! I proceed on my journey to other destinations.

I believe you walk with me on the path of my unforgettable experience.

https://unsplash.com/photos/grayscale-photo-of-lions-face-5vCQdgU2CLI

“ In the kingdom of life, be a lion — fearless, regal, and always ready to defend the territory of your dreams”
~ Alex Elle

--

--

Bhargavvaghasiya
Practice in Public

Travel Enthusiasts, spiritual explorer, Animal lover, Medical student