Self Doubt is the Worst…

So, remove the ‘Self’, and keep working on the ‘Doubts’.

Pankhuree Khaneja | Kaleidostopia
Practice in Public
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

I was recently reading about Imposter Syndrome.

With the help of my dear friend Google (which gives me results of unexplainable diseases when I search ‘cough’), I found out that it is a mixture of self-doubt, low self-confidence, attributing success to external factors, setting high expectations for yourself and never living up to them.

Heavy sh*t. Right?

All these take a toll on your mental health and deprive you of the great possibilities of your potential which you might never be able to cross.

Why? Because you are brilliantly self-handicapping.

Everybody in their lives might have felt self-doubt, no doubt! But I would like to take it positively and think of it as being disconnected from my present self and take it as a perpetual self-improving exercise.

But does that mean that I will never be happy? Never be able to feel the blessings of my achievements and praise myself and my efforts, or my talent? Possible. Is it a bad thing? Probably. Or definitely.

So, these are the things I realized and tried after a self-awareness session with my beloved solitude at 3 am.

  • It is a feeling, not a label.
  • Try to do more positive self-talk and positive self-writing.
  • Fake it till you make it.
  • If not anything, try C2H5OH. If not, meditate. Same thang!

Stop being busy with your insecurities. Start being busy with your potential. Confidence will show in itself.

Photo by Alysha Rosly on Unsplash

Share your journey with your doubts. How did you overcome them?

--

--

Pankhuree Khaneja | Kaleidostopia
Practice in Public

I write about feelings. Truth or Fallacy? Just a matter of perspective.