Take It Easy

Challenge the hustle culture mindset

Sneha Saigal
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Haley Phelps on Unsplash

Some days I am unstoppable.

I can start the day with a writing sprint, get 2–3 sales calls in, and focus on whatever is the next big needle mover, or highlight for my startup that day.

Yet, there are days when I am tied to my desk, jumping from tab to tab and struggling to string words together to form a sentence (or two).

So, I put my laptop away and pick up my book to read or nap.

That normally lasts 10 min (or until I get a notification) — whichever is first.

We spend all day hopping from mid-to-big-to-small-sized screens.

Even “taking it easy” means putting on a podcast or picking up a book.

Saying we’re too busy to take it easy is like saying we’re too hungry to eat.

Isn’t that the point of taking it easy? Because it’s become too busy?

Average is pretty good

I’ve felt the urgency to “take it easy” when I am most unproductive.

It’s not preventive, it’s curative. And that’s the worst kind of self-care.

For example:

There are days I can’t think. I scroll mindlessly on LinkedIn. My screen time goes up by 35%. I

--

--

Sneha Saigal
Practice in Public

I write about PR for startups, founder wellness, immigrant founders and writerpreneurship! https://geeksandexperts.com!