The Little Idea That Will Kick-Start Your 10-Year-Plan

How to convince your mind to commit to the craft

Eve Arnold
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Marie-Michèle Bouchard on Unsplash

When simple becomes complex it’s a great tragedy.

When it comes to building something, a business, a writing career, a running habit, whatever you hold in your mind, there’s one simple answer:

You just do it.

No science, no math, and certainly no literature. It just is. You just move. But for what it’s worth, this is how I convinced my brain to commit to one thing.

The ultimatum

At 23, I spent most of my time talking to myself.

Outloud, full-blown conversations with myself on the way to work. I know that probably means something isn’t quite right but let’s gloss over.

The theme: I told myself that I had all these ambitions and dreams but here I was, going to work each day, at a job I hated.

What was I doing?!

One day I got bored of the same conversations. I realized this negative self-talk didn’t serve me. What I needed was action.

So I got serious with myself. I had two choices, either:

  • I did something about it
  • I resolved to myself that I would never mention a…

--

--