This Is the Reason You Don’t Make Sales

A guide to making sales as a beginner

Andikan David
Practice in Public
3 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by Luke Chesser on Unsplash

The most important thing in business is sales.

However starting out, it may be difficult to make as many sales as you expect. Without making sales, your entire business is flawed.

To sustain your business for the long term, the most important thing your business needs is sales.

Beginners make the mistake of thinking that their follower's count automatically equals money.

So beginners focus on getting their followers and increasing their growth only to realize that they don’t make money in the process.

The real essence of building a business is to make money and you can make money building your online business no matter the size of your audience.

The Newsletter

I started writing online a couple of months ago, I had no idea what I was doing.

I didn't even think I could make money online or even think I could make money through writing.
The best way I thought I could earn with my writing was if I somehow was paid for the words I wrote.

At the time, the best idea I had of making money online was writing on Medium.

It’s been almost four months since I was a total beginner and since then I’ve launched my newsletter, designed a strategy to scale my online business to six figures, and also created systems in place to make money.

The Beginner's Dilemma

When starting, the easiest way to build a successful business is to just get to action.

The issue is when I started, I started acting in the wrong direction.
I had to calmly study other creators to find out exactly how things were done and began following the path myself.

Building an online business may be difficult for a beginner. Designing your business to begin making money is even harder.

Here is a step-by-step guide to making sales for your online business even as a beginner

Step 1. Social proof

Human beings are designed to move in the direction of other human beings.

So if a few people are buying from you, the majority will be convinced that you have evidence to back up what you’re saying and if social proof, they’ll be motivated to buy from you.

If you don’t have clients to work for to get social proof, do free services or give free advice in exchange for testimonials.

Step 2: Post valuable content

The next thing you want to do is show that you are actually under the niche you’re in and you need to build an authority by posting valuable and actionable tips to help people with their business.

When you post free valuable information, you position yourself as an expert and increase your chances of selling.

Step 3: Talk about your offer

This is something beginners don’t do often. Talk about your offer more.

Talk about your offer as often as possible because nobody will help you advertise your product and your business.

When you give out free content, include your offer at the end of your content.

After showing yourself as an expert you can now position yourself for people to buy from you.

Conclusion

Starting as a beginner it may be difficult to find your footing and then begin making sales with your business.

With the right guide and Strategy, you don’t need a large following to make money

I designed a free course to help beginners start their business from ideation to sales and then scale it.

Here is what people are saying about the course.

Photo by Author

Get my free beginner’s guide here

--

--

Andikan David
Practice in Public

Founder & CEO | I'll teach you how to build a profitable one-person business | Get my FREE Beginner's Guide⬇️ https://theweekendintrapreneur.ck.page