This Journaling Prompt Will Change Your Life.

How’s The Wheel Of Life?

SpotKnocks
Practice in Public
3 min readSep 8, 2024

--

There is one Journaling prompt I got from Ali Abdaal’s video on Journaling, that just stuck with me and gave me perspective on my life. The current situation in my life, where am I Winning and Where am I falling behind

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The prompt is :

How’s The Wheel Of Life?

The wheel of life has everything related to your life. It has three main sections and 3 sub-sections to each of the main sections.

The sections and sub-sections are :

(a) Relationships :

  • Romance
  • Family
  • Friends

(b) Health :

  • Mind
  • Body
  • Soul

(c)Work :

  • Growth
  • Money
  • Mission

How to Journal with this prompt?

With this prompt, you will write about the present situation of different compartments of your life and you will rate that compartment of life out of 10. If you score low or mid you should try to find ways to increase the score, a low or mid score means that part of your life is not going the way you want it to and you should take steps to change that.

For example, if you get a 6 in your friends’ area. You will know the reason why you are low in the compartment and solve this by “I will try to spend my free day on Wednesday with friends, this week”

I do this every Sunday and it brings perspective to different areas of my life. It also enables me to understand if I am going in the wrong direction in any of my compartments and find a solution to get me back on the right track, the track I want to be in that particular area.

The Importance of the “Mission” Section

The Mission area is an important one. It is the one where you write about what you want to do in your life and what would you do if money was never in the equation of life. This is important in the work section. You don’t want to keep doing things because someone else told you to do.

Sometimes we don’t realise if the things we are doing things are the actual things that we want to do. The mission part helps to clarify it.

I would suggest you do this weekly once for two months and you will see all your relationship problems fade and your life return to the tracks you want it to be.

Writing solutions to your problems in your life is the way of getting your life in the right direction and it is the key part of this journal entry. So do that. Write it!!! Don’t just think about it. Watch your relationship get strong, your health get back on track and your work align with your goals.

Here is a link to books that can help you grow as a person.

--

--

SpotKnocks
Practice in Public

I am a student, who writes about insights and tools to improve your life. Cheers 🥂