Want More Followers? Steal My 3 Best Strategies for How I Earned 100 Followers In January

This isn’t about earning your first 100 followers, although you could use this strategy to get there.

Atiyya Menifee
Practice in Public

--

I earned my first 100 followers back in November. This is how I got the next set of 100, all within one single month.

If you look at the date of my first article on Medium, you’ll see I started writing on June 29th of 2021, which means it took nearly 5 months to build to 100 followers. Here’s the number one mistake I made during that time.

Screenshot of my growth in January.

Lots of Navel Gazing

Medium is a social media platform without the raunchy DM’s.

Because people on the platform see it as social media, it’s massively important to engage with other writers and follow those you actually enjoy reading.

This has allowed me to strike up conversations in the comment section with amazing writers like Scott Stockdale and Justiss Goode.

I wasn’t greedy in the comments (“can you follow me back?”). That’s not what the platform is about and honestly, it’s a little annoying.

Instead, I added valuable insights to their work. Not just the “cool article”, but actually processing of…

--

--

Atiyya Menifee
Practice in Public

90% of writing problems are mental. I write the solutions.