What Happened to Money Horror Stories Part 3?

I finally gathered the courage to address the obvious and try again

Oli
Practice in Public
2 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

Purple and green aurora borealis seen in a starry night sky over a snowy landscape
Photo by Lightscape on Unsplash

Long story short, life happened. Cold season had started and, with a child starting school, it was as rough like trying to eat a dry chicken biscuit sandwich first thing in the morning with no water. Without having drafted any more than my ideas, I lost momentum for writing the third part of my planned 3-part series.

For those who are interested, part 3 was going to be a poem (yes, I like to rhyme sometimes) about how some things labeled “free” are not actually free and cheap things can be costly. My lesson learned from years of falling for different flavors of fake “free” is that “free” can secretly steal your time, energy, health, space, comfort, safety, or money you were hoping to save.

Tread carefully and take your time when navigating “free” and cheap offers. Don’t fall for the “free” pizza at work when you know you’re lactose intolerant, the chance to win a “free” vacation if you hand over your contact information, or the “free” gift if you buy an entire skincare set you’ve never tried before when you only intended to buy lotion.

With that said, thank you for reading so far. While I wait for inspiration to strike for my next lessons learned article, I want to write about my current money journey. For a while now, my financial focus has been on building wealth. How did the wealthy get wealthy? What steps do I follow to get rich? Is it possible for me to become a millionaire?

The money horror series stories are all from when I thought money didn’t matter. I didn’t pay attention to my bank account, I didn’t know much about finance or what I could do with money (other than buy stuff aka shopping therapy is real). I figured working hard and gaining experience would translate into getting paid more. Then, I reached a point where, as an adult working over 40 hours a week, I couldn’t afford an apartment on my own. I got through that time with a new understanding that money matters, especially in the US.

I started reading about money, personal finance, and building wealth. Almost a decade later, I’ve learned a lot. I also have a lot more to learn. I’m excited to share the books that shifted my thinking and inspired me to make pivotal moves in my next article. I’ll also share my progress each month as I work towards making my first million (putting it out there in the Universe).

I wish you all the best of luck in pursuing your financial goals in 2024!

--

--

Oli
Practice in Public

Business owner, lifelong learner. I unpack some of the things I’ve found helpful in managing personal finances.