What Plants Teach Us About Self-Care

Finding time, slowing down and paying attention

Florence Wanjiku
Practice in Public

--

Photo by ROCKETMANN TEAM on Pexels

Taking care of any kind of plant is not easy. It requires a lot of care, attention, and understanding the right conditions for the plant to thrive. Beyond that, it is relatively easy.

I grew up surrounded by my grandmother’s garden. She never explicitly taught me about plants, but she instilled in me the values of taking care of and paying attention to the things and people you care about, especially taking care of oneself.

Finding Time

At first, I believed I had inherited her green thumb, but it took considerable effort on my part to truly learn how to take care of plants. One crucial aspect was understanding the conditions in which my plants would thrive.

After a few initial failed attempts, I decided to select a low-maintenance plant that required watering every two weeks and minimal sunlight.

The term “condition” can be defined as “a state of being” or “an environmental requirement,” according to Merriam-Webster. Just like plants require the right conditions to thrive, we also have our own needs for optimal growth.

One of my grandmother’s essential conditions was time. She woke up every day at 4 a.m., a sacred time for nurturing herself…

--

--

Florence Wanjiku
Practice in Public

I write about personal development, wellness and mindulness. You can visit my blog at aqlwellness.com