WRITING ON MEDIUM

Why Did Medium Pay Me Over $10,000 In 11 Months For This Article?

Increase your chances of making money from all your writing efforts

Chris Davidson
Practice in Public
Published in
10 min readMar 27, 2024

--

Author’s own Screenshot/Canva

Since April 2023 I’ve earned over $10k from this one article, directly from the Medium Partner Program, an article which:

  • Earned me $000s in some months, and will still earn over $400 this month, almost a year later;
  • Helped me add 2,500 subscribers to my email list;
  • Earned me several $000s more indirectly through courses and coaching purchased by readers on that email list;
  • Helped grow my Medium following by over 10k in a year, to 15k.

Not too shabby, right? And yet you’ve probably never heard of me. I am certainly not one of the Big Names On Medium.

Despite not being a particularly good writer, and had this confirmed by multiple Medium publication owners (“not journalistic enough”, “not enough empathy”, “not our style”), I have still achieved what many writers here want:

To make a big chunk of money on Medium and grow my following.

Why & How I Started Writing On Medium

--

--

Chris Davidson
Practice in Public

Coach for busy, out-of-shape Over-40s • Dad of 3 • Irishman • Trainer • Writer • Free Over-40s Fat Loss, Fitness & Lifestyle Programs : www.offacoach.com/free