Why Failures Are the Secret Recipe For Success?

The reward of setbacks.

Sumanpreet Kaur
Practice in Public
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Kristina V on Unsplash

Failures are like mirrors.

That shows how actually you look (from inside) reflecting the corners of your life where there is a big room to improve.

Failures give a splash of your flaws, mistakes, missteps, and lacks.

Last year, I was laid off from 2 jobs. After these sudden and unexpected jerks, I reflected and observed my insufficiencies and reworked my skills.

Failures hit you and throw in a pit that gives you enough space to sit and know yourself better:

  • Your areas of improvement.
  • Your area of ignorance.
  • Your area of lacks.

So, the question is how to get direction from this mirror of failures.

How to make it the step for your success?

Every time I met defeat, I asked these 3 questions:

  • Why did it happen?
  • How am I responsible for it?
  • What can I do next?

The best part?

Reflecting this way and acting upon your lacks add a healthy habit to you.

That habit is of refining.

Refining yourself, your skills, and your work.

And later people call your work of excellence.

The shift of being honest with yourself and criticizing yourself to improve, get better, and become a new person leads to that step of success.

Live in peace with your failures

You know, how do we get motivation from others?

How do you feel “If they can do it, I can too.”?

As we know about their journey of continuing despite the setbacks we recharge ourselves. Because your journey is all about staying persistent and restarting.

The other point is, whatever happens, it happens for a reason.

So, look for that reason.

Refine yourself.

Allow yourself to experiment, fall, and learn.

“Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.”

- Robert F. Kennedy

Enjoyed reading this? Tap on the clap, share your views, and follow to get such insightful stories weekly. I write about Freelancing, LinkedIn tips, self-improvement, and healthy routines and share my stories.

I’m a LinkedIn personal branding strategist and copywriter. I share insights based on my experience and learning. Want to get practical LinkedIn approaches to achieve your business goals?

Let’s connect on LinkedIn.

--

--