I Will Never Use AI To Help Me With My Writing Again

It destroyed everything I have built so far.

Desiree Peralta
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Barbara Zandoval on Unsplash

I always knew my writing was simple. I never took a literature class, I never read classic professional books to learn how to write poetically, and English is not even my first language.

Despite that, I always wanted to be a big writer. So, I started with personal blogs, moved to news, and this year, with books.

My first book was a romantic fiction novel that I finished in March of this year. Since my posts have always been no more than 2000 words (news and personal blogs are not usually longer than that), I decided that this first book should be a random story (not the best ones I have in mind) to learn how to write extensive things.

That’s why everything I wrote came out of my head without looking for any inspiration; the words were simple, and in general, it looked like it was written by a beginner.

When I finished, I liked the result, but I was ready to create something more professional and bigger. This first book had very basic English, and I wanted the next thing to look way better. Something worthy of a movie.

So, I started looking for ways to enhance my writing and level up for my second book. One way I found to fix my writing was with AI tools…

--

--

Desiree Peralta
Practice in Public

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/