Why I’m No Longer Afraid of Doing the Scary Things as a Creator

I’m putting myself out there more than ever.

Benjamin Watkins
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Benjamin Watkins

I don’t like sales. I don’t like business. I don’t like sharing my writing online. I don’t like doing video. I don’t like sharing anything that I’m uncomfortable with.

Twenty-four-year-old Ben was fearful of all those things. Thirty-four-old Ben is embracing all those fears.

I’m learning to embrace the idea of being terrible. I’m no longer afraid of doing scary things.

Things are changing. Here’s why.

It’s Easy to Stay In Your Lane

For the longest time, I stayed in my lane as a creator.

I focused on writing and copywriting. Sure, I’ve built an audience through writing. And yet, I was always stepping away from doing other things — the scary things.

I felt comfortable as a writer. That was my lane as a creator. I didn’t see myself as someone savvy at business. I didn’t see myself doing videos. I didn’t want to do that.

But the older I get, the more I realize that if I want to build a business and become a creator of marketing and copywriting, I need to stop being scared of doing the little things.

What Could You…

--

--

Benjamin Watkins
Practice in Public

Founder of ThisIsCopy.com | Health Tech Copywriter | Copywriting examples at https://laviebenrose.substack.com/. Dad of five adventurous kids..