A Lawyer’s Journey into Coding

Meet PragProg Columnist and Author of Wealth, Actually

Frazer Rice
The Pragmatic Programmers
3 min readMar 14, 2022

--

By way of introduction, I’m a lawyer and the Regional Director for Pendleton Square Trust, a Tennessee-based trust company. I work with trustees, families, their professional advisors to develop and implement fiduciary structures and family offices.

I have written a book about wealth management:

I also run the Wealth Actually podcast where I interview entrepreneurs, experts, and tastemakers in the wealth space.

A couple of years ago I realized that I needed to get better at the technology that underpins the financial services space and the legal world. Advice companies are now technology and media companies as well. The world of data science, machine learning, artificial intelligence, coding, and information technology platforms are prime concerns — and sources of opportunity.

My own coding journey is limited and glancing, but not non-existent. I started with LOGO and BASIC back in the early 80s and then explored PASCAL, C++, SQL, and JAVA. This limited exposure is a bit like hearing your friend has never seen Star Wars nor the Empire Strikes Back! I know there is a great big fintech world out there, and it’s one that gets little coverage — many times because banks do not like to share their secrets.

The stories I share on Medium will reflect my journey as I learn about the intersection of the financial and legal services industrial complex and programming. I hope to dive into the intricacies of data science, machine learning, and artificial intelligence along the way and share my discoveries with you, the reader.

You can expect to see:

  • Problems begging for a solution
  • Fintech news
  • Coding observations as I learn more
  • Stories from the intersection of executive management and the technology world
  • Discussions with movers in the industry
  • New business ideas in the intersection of coding, finance, and law

💬 I look forward to your feedback!

Wealth, Actually by Frazer Rice
Wealth, Actually by Frazer Rice

--

--