Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

How Do I Get Better at Writing?

Answers from The Engineering Manager

James Stanier
9 min readJul 10, 2022

--

https://pragprog.com/newsletter/

Welcome to a little reboot of The Engineering Manager. I’m going to be trying out a few new things.

Firstly, I’m going to get back into writing on a more regular cadence. It turns out that doing two books almost back to back is fairly time consuming. Who’d have thought?

Secondly, I’ve migrated my mailing list to Substack because this will give you, the reader, way more flexibility in how you can read the website. I’ll be posting on The Engineering Manager blog as per usual, but I’ll also be publishing those articles on the Substack mailing list as it gives an alternative reading experience through your inbox.

Make sure to subscribe if that’s up your street.

I thought I’d kick things off by answering a series of questions, since lots of people ask me for all sorts of advice. Recording my answers in one place might also bring them to a wider audience. In this post, we’ll tackle question one, about how to get better at writing.

Question One

--

--

James Stanier
The Pragmatic Programmers

Writing things that interest me. Hopefully they'll interest you as well.