Photo by Allison Louise on Unsplash

How Do I Progress to the Next Level in My Career?

Answers from The Engineering Manager

James Stanier
13 min readJul 17, 2022

--

https://pragprog.com/newsletter/

Let’s explore another question people frequently ask me. How do I progress to the next level in my career?

This is a broad question, and every single person is different. However, this question is interesting because you can use it to begin some valuable self-inquiry.

What we’ll do is:

  • Explore what careers may look like and what motivates us. These topics are well worth revisiting when you feel like you are getting frustrated or stuck or are wondering what the future may hold for you.
  • Think of practical ways to take your progression into your own hands. Once you know what you’re after, how do you get there?

Let’s get going.

The Short Answer

Image by HomeStudio on Shutterstock

--

--

James Stanier
The Pragmatic Programmers

Writing things that interest me. Hopefully they'll interest you as well.