IBM Selectric by Steve Lodefink via flickr CC 2.0

Seeds of Inspiration

A Personal Journey of Curiosity, Ingenuity, and Passion

Mike Riley
3 min readSep 5, 2023

--

https://pragprog.com/newsletter/

I have often been asked what prompted me to pursue a career in technology. It wasn’t a single episodic event, but rather a layering of inspirational moments that ignited the passion that still fuels me today.

Long before the days of full stack development, Kubernetes, cloud, and hundreds of programming languages, the typical office of the 1960s was populated with typewriters, adding machines, and for the fortunate few, one or more mimeograph machines. It was in this environment that my father brought my brother and me to spend the day. One particular item of interest to me was a brand-new IBM Selectric typewriter that had spherical, rotating ball of letters that would quickly reposition itself to the letter matching the key pressed on the typewriter’s keyboard. It was quite a toy beyond what toddlers had access to in those days.

… rather than take a hammer to the apparently defunct item, I started troubleshooting the problem.

While growing up, my dad would also bring home broken electronics from the office…

--

--