Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

Three Common Diagramming Use Cases

How Can Diagrams Make Your Life as an Engineer Easier?

Ashley Peacock
7 min readNov 10, 2022

--

https://pragprog.com/newsletter/

Learn how to effectively present your solutions and ideas in a digestible way.

Have you ever been in a meeting and struggled to explain a concept or technical solution? Perhaps, you’ve been on the other side of the fence, listening to someone explain something, but you simply can’t comprehend what they are saying.

In my experience, this communication shortfall is a frequent occurrence in software engineering. There’s only so much information a person can absorb without being overwhelmed.

So, how do we alleviate this problem? In my opinion, any time someone doesn’t understand something, or you need to explain something complex, you can and should reach for a diagram. Let’s take a look at why!

Why Do Diagrams Help?

When I first started to use diagrams several years ago, I didn’t share them with anyone else. I used them as a tool for my own understanding.

--

--