An Interview with Richard Muller

Tania Gupta
The Pragyan Blog
Published in
4 min readMay 26, 2017

Perhaps the most wonderful gift an intellectual can have is to be able to break down the complexities of a subject like physics and relate it to daily life, so that we no longer fear the complex. This is precisely what Dr.Richard Muller set out to achieve when he started his ‘Physics for Future Presidents’ course at UC Berkeley. Today, this series of lectures has been contained in a bestseller, which aims to explain the science behind everyday news. So the next time we watch the news, we don’t fall prey to misinformation and fake news, that the internet is so rife with today. With books like ‘The Instant Physicist: An Illustrated Guide’ he has made us appreciate the strange and funny riddle that physics is.

He could’ve stopped there, but what makes this man extraordinarily relatable is his readiness to answer questions. From spacetime to Star Wars and even what a good marriage is like, no question to Richard Muller goes unanswered on Quora. Some of his answers are just as wacky as the questions. My favourite was when he likened a long marriage to winning a Nobel Prize. “Having a long marriage, in my mind, is like winning a Nobel Prize; it is not something to expect, but something worth working towards, and something to be grateful for if it happens”, he said, in one of his replies. His answers on Quora alone would’ve filled a book of interesting anecdotes.

As I waited to interview one of the greatest physicists of our time, several thoughts were running through my head. I was nervous. What if I got something wrong? Would he be offended?

I need not have worried. For a man who has no dearth of titles and awards in his kitty, he’s surprisingly down-to-earth and relatable, as he explains complex issues like climate change and space-time physics to his audience. We asked him a few questions about his pet concerns — climate change, Quora and of course, Game of Thrones.

You have previously named nuclear energy as one of the strongest contenders in the battle against climate change. In spite of the potential risks that nuclear energy poses, why do you think so?

I think the risks are exaggerated. The dangers of a nuclear explosion are quite lower than what other people actually think. Many people think that storing nuclear waste is a big challenge. But actually, it is much simpler than in the case of coal energy and also has much lesser effect on global warming than others. We need our global leaders to explain that nuclear waste is not a problem and that it can be safely implemented; the fear of nuclear energy must be battled by the people for the better.

You’re one of the most followed personalities on Quora, and given that your profession requires dedicated time to physics, how do you balance your time between physics and Quora?

(laughs)

Quora is what I do for relaxation. It’s like one of those meaningful hobbies to me. It’s very enjoyable and pleasant and you get to meet different people online. I enjoy reading and answering on Quora because it is so thoughtful. I’m very honoured that so many people read my answers on Quora and write to me their regards, which is very rewarding. Like some collect stamps, I read and write on Quora. I think in general all have the instinct to teach — some do it to their children, some to their students and friends, and Quora has a wonderful teaching environment where I present my knowledge to thousands of people and they feel grateful.

Sir, we have read that you’re a big fan of the Game Of Thrones show. Do you have any fan theories for the seventh season?

My theories in Game of Thrones, one after the other, have all been disproved all the time, but what I love about Game of Thrones is that it doesn’t do the obvious; the plot is always unexpected. What I learnt was that physics is much easier to predict than GoT (laughs). I haven’t followed Game of Thrones for six months now, so I am looking forward to it in the coming days.

And with that, our tryst with Dr. Muller came to an end. With as much charm as he had answered our questions, he obliged us all with a group picture, before shaking all our hands cordially and departing for his lecture.

--

--