What Obstacle Course Racing Taught Me About Adversity

Joanne Singh
prajñā — conscious leadership
5 min readJun 12, 2020
Photography: Daniel Armali, Location: Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury, Quebec City

Have you ever purposefully thrown yourself into the unfamiliar? Something that is so out of your element that it takes you far past your tolerance for discomfort?

6 years ago, I signed up for my first obstacle course race. I was motivated by the ability to raise funds for my favourite charity and the opportunity to further my fitness journey alongside my friends.

Little did I know that I was about to be hooked on what some may view as an extreme sport, not because of its physical benefits but for the mental strength and resilience it taught me.

Lesson 1: Chase your fears, and embrace them

From time to time, we all experience fear. Fear is unavoidable. It comes as part of the package of the human experience.

I recall my first A frame cargo net climb. It was my voluntary first face off with my longstanding fear of heights.

As I ascended, I could feel my heart begin to race and my breathing become heavier. The closer I got to the top, the less sturdy the net felt and the more afraid I became. Fear began to manifest physically in my body, making it more and more difficult to move.

Getting to the top was an accomplishment in itself. However, the hardest part was what came next. In order to descend, I needed to release my grip (I had been holding on for dear life) and swing one leg over to the other side.

It was in this moment that I adopted the strategy of embracing fear through acknowledgement and acceptance. Once I stopped resisting the fear, I was able to think more clearly on what the necessary steps were to complete the obstacle. It was this strategy that allowed me to hear my inner voice that compassionately walked me through these steps, while reminding me to trust myself.

To date, I have participated in over 15 courses and I kid you not, I still experience fear when completing the A frame cargo net. In fact, if I’m completely honest, I feel terrified when completing at least 60% of the obstacles, if not more.

In spite of this, I continue to race. Why? Because I believe that the more you chase your fears, the better skilled you become at managing through adversity.

Fear will always be there, but I will not allow fear to paralyze and consume me. Racing has been an avenue where I can sharpen my skills in managing through fear evoking, chaotic and uncertain situations.

I challenge you to think of fear as your friend, not your enemy. Use fear as an opportunity to observe what is being triggered both physically and mentally. Acknowledge, accept and embrace it. Then decide on who you want to be in the face of fear.

Lesson 2: The only way through is through

Anyone who has ever completed an endurance event will tell you that there are moments where you feel completely at a loss. Your body is plagued with fatigue, your mind feels defeated and the end seems nowhere in sight.

Two years ago, I ran my first race in Western Canada, in Kimberley, BC. The race was integrated into a one week girls’ road trip in the Canadian Rockies.

Our road trip was filled with long driving days, ambitious hikes and less than ideal sleeping conditions. It was 30+ degrees on race day. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky and the sun was beaming onto the dry mountainous terrain with a vengeance.

Needless to say, I was feeling suboptimal about my race-readiness at the start line.

Less than 15 minutes into my race, I started to experience higher than usual levels of fatigue. The sun was so hot that my skin felt like it was about to burst into flames. The dust from the gravel shifting beneath my feet was making it even harder to breathe. The water in my camelbak was already hot.

To make matters worse, I had come to the realization that the course was a single uphill climb, offering little shade.

I took breaks where I could. At one point, I very seriously considered calling it quits. I had been on the course for less than an hour and had no idea how I was going to get to the finish line.

Then, I had a moment where I reminded myself, the only way through is through.

I began to set small goals by identifying a mark 150–200 meters ahead of me. I poured all of my energy and focus into getting to that goal. Once I arrived, I rewarded myself with a break, commended myself for how far I had come and reset my goal.

Slow and steady wins the race.

This mental shift has been a proven strategy in tackling uncertainty in my life. There are moments where what is ahead of me seems daunting and I have no capacity to process how it will unfold or how I will get to the proverbial finish line.

Racing has taught me that sometimes, the best strategy is to dissect things into micro goals.

Focus on what is in your immediate control. Celebrate your wins. Reflect on how far you have come. Then, reset and keep moving forward.

Lesson 3: Life is a team sport

The community in obstacle course racing is one that I have yet to find in any other aspect of my life. Racers range from fitness newbies to world class, elite athletes of all ages. Yet, on the course, everyone is seen as an equal.

The races I run are individual focused and competitive. Yet, I have never felt alone in a race because of the level of respect and support offered by my fellow racers.

There is always someone willing to give you a boost to get over that 10 foot wall. It’s not unusual to see a racer doling out high fives at the top of a steep hill while cheering for those enduring the climb. Comments like “you’ve got this!” or “you’re doing great, keep it up!” are common exchanges amongst racers.

Life is no different.

While we walk our own paths filled with unique obstacles, we are never truly alone. We are surrounded by community, whether it is family, friends, colleagues, neighbours — and sometimes even strangers.

When experiencing adversity, we must be fearless in asking for help from those around us. In these moments, it’s critical that individuals intentionally build community to create a sense of togetherness and offer support.

Humanity is all in this together in this obstacle course called life. This is something that we must always remind ourselves of.

As I maneuver through these uncertain times, I remind myself of these 3 critical lessons that I have learned on the race course and extrapolate them into my daily life.

Embrace fear.

Take one step at a time.

Build community.

--

--

Joanne Singh
prajñā — conscious leadership

Mover, Shaker, CHANGEMAKER | Writing on the intersection of consciousness and leadership | Helping you leverage your inner power to create lasting impact