Spotify Player Retro Redesign

Pranav Wadhwa
Pranav Wadhwa iOS Blog
2 min readOct 26, 2018

I’m a huge fan of Spotify and its iOS app: as an app developer, I appreciate its beautiful gradients, smooth interface, and intuitive design. However, my parents don’t feel the same way.

Current Spotify Design (iPhone 8)

As “80’s kids”, they prefer turning on the old-fashioned radio than navigating through the more modern Spotify app. Thus, I strived to create an additional theme for the app’s music player and give it a more retro feel through the use of a vinyl record.

Retro Redesign

I was challenged with fitting a retro gadget in what a more modern app. The grooves and lighting placed on the vinyl record are designed to give it a slightly modern feel. Fitting in the controls was yet another obstacle. I chose to place the play/pause on the base of the turntable and created another circle for the current time to make the design symmetric.

I’d love to create an animated version of this design. I would include the ability to spin the record to scrub through the song, as well as the ability to smoothly swipe and transition between songs.

--

--