Variety Relaunch in 3, 2, 1, NOW!

Brandon Giesing
Pravox Networks
Published in
2 min readJun 16, 2016

In the last post, I mentioned that I was considering changing the platform that powers for the stations. I have made a decision and it’s drumroll please… Cytu.be!

[Originally Published on April 4th, 2016]

Wait a Second, Isn’t it the same?

Technically yes, Cytu.be powered our server but it’s expensive to maintain your own server and they maintain one so it’s on their side now.

The benefit here is better stability and the ability to focus more on the content!

What is this warning to allow a script?

The coolest part of this new version is CyTube PLUS! There’s a lot that it adds on to CyTube but it needs permission to be enabled. Click allow and enjoy the fanciness!

If you don’t want to, the basic functionality still works however.

Didn’t you want to switch because nobody wants to signup?

Yes but CyTube’s site with the more updated version includes either Anon and/or Guest permissions and I enabled it.

Note: I made it where Anon users can’t add videos. Please type a nickname into the chat’s Guest login box and hit Enter to start!

Hey!! Where did Pravox ***** go?!?

I’m reconsidering them and have not remade them (for now) as I move sites. They may or may not come back but remember VARIETY plays all content so you can still play those videos there.

Also, you may notice a Schedule button at the top of the new page. This is also kind of a replacement for multiple channels by preferring certain content on certain days (even though all content is still allowed anyway)

Other changes?

I added a Channel Database that will contain some popular videos to play at any time! (Do you want a show there? Email me at me[at]brandongiesing.com

More customization is available from CyTube PLUS

I’m still making tweaks so please report any issues and enjoy!

--

--