Mourning the Deceased

Ryan Bilodeau
Prayer to Pen
Published in
1 min readNov 29, 2018

Two plus years of mourning (the loss of my Mom Marie Bilodeau) has afforded me insight into death as a concept and the larger process of grieving. Throughout the mourning process, my Catholic views guided and re-conceptualized my views on loss itself. Here are a few of those thoughts. You can read more of them in my book Running to Heaven: The Story of Marie Bilodeau.

  1. In St. Paul’s letter to the Thessalonians, we are implored not to grieve like others who have no hope. This reminder helps guard one against a long-term nihilistic turn in spirit and psyche. Clarity of heart and mind are necessary during heavy times in order to avoid despair.
  2. As the old hymn rhetorically asks, “How can I keep from singing?” in a world that, although filled with suffering, nonetheless affords us a daily and direct view of our beautiful God.
  3. Consider this: if God could allow Mary to mourn (and witness) the loss of her Son, and Jesus to mourn the loss of his friend Lazarus, then who am I not to taste the bitter pill of grief? From my perspective, anger at and frustration with God is just not a tenable long-term position.

--

--

Ryan Bilodeau
Prayer to Pen

God, family, country. Teacher & author. Ardent about helping the homeless. Big fan of marketing, sports, poetry, politics & hip-hop. | http://ryanbilodeau.com