When I Was an Intern, by Aby

A series by full-time Praytellers who began as interns. Meet Aby, a full-time Junior Account Strategist in Austin who started as an intern…

Praytell Agency
praytellagency
2 min readJul 21, 2019

--

Name: Aby Cies
Internship Period: January 2018 — May 2018
Location: Austin
Current Role: Junior Account Strategist

I applied to Praytell by…
I saw an internship posting on LinkedIn and Sanji promptly replied and told me Austin wasn’t currently searching for an intern. I sent two GIFs along with my resume and the rest is history.

My first day was surprising because…
I was offered a beer and was worried it was a test (it wasn’t). Oh, and my desk wasn’t fully set up so I had to sit in a room alone. I ended up scaring someone because they weren’t aware that was my temporary desk area.

I knew I was in the office too long when…
It was sooo quiet and I thought I saw a ghost. No ghost but the sun was down so that added to the level of spooky. [Ed. note: Incorrect. Yes ghost.]

I was (and still am) addicted to this Slack channel…
#a_case_for_the_FBI. I love the Kardashians OKAY.

The most underrated office snack was…
Rice Krispie Treats. Try one for breakfast. It’s great.

The #1 overrated office snack was…
Pre-popped popcorn. Stop it. Just make fresh popcorn and enjoy how great it smells and tastes! I hate ordering this for the office because someone always will request it. [Ed. note: Correct. No pre-popped.]

I knew I wanted to work here full-time when…
Probably by week three when I was getting more comfortable with the Austin office and my internship role.

My advice to my past intern self would be…
Nobody is judging you. Get out there a little bit more!

Looking for an internship? Visit Praytell’s website to find out about openings in our internship program.

Read More: When I was an Intern, by Emily

--

--