000: Core Product Skills

Christopher R. Acea
prdctfolio
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2018

Throughout my career of working in product, I would like to outline nine core skills that have been instrumental in shaping the success of organizations I have worked with.

Customer focus

I am focused on solving customer’s needs and problems by way of new product offerings or new features.

Oriented to goals and metrics

My orientation to goals and metrics ensures I am keenly aware of how to measure success in alignment with the goals of stakeholders.

Data-driven decision making

Leveraging data to make informed decisions through analytics, interviews and surveys lends itself to prioritizing efforts that deliver the most value first.

Innovation

Through industry research and dogfooding, I am able to collaborate with teams to think of innovative solutions to ship to market.

Design/UX

As an infinite learner, I am able to spot the differences between good and great designs that empower the overall user experience. I am also ready to sketch ideas in my Moleskine notebook and share with the creative team for clarity and feedback.

Technical acumen

By asking questions and thinking through different touchpoints of a system, I am able to break down concepts and as a result gain the trust of engineering teams.

Leadership

Humble by nature, I empower my teams to put their best efforts forward with an acute awareness of their needs. I am always ready to share the workload, grab coffee and do what my team needs in order to foster a strong working relationship.

Communication

By keeping all stakeholders aware of progress, blockers and potential changes, I always strive to ensure that my thoughts are succinctly conveyed to my colleagues.

Execution

From high level strategy to the tactical work needed daily, I have always been able to deliver tangible results with my colleagues and am always up to volunteer to help move things along.

-Christopher R. Acea

--

--

Christopher R. Acea
prdctfolio

Building world-class product, engineering and design teams for startups and enterprises