Week 11

Sophie Lowen
Pre-Thesis
Published in
1 min readDec 6, 2021

This week was thanksgiving so I decided to give myself a few days of a break around the holiday so that I wouldn’t completely burn out going into the rest of the semester.

Because of my break, this will be a quick update and my progress for the week was to prepare for more important things for the following week. This week I sent a lot of emails. I followed up on emails that hadn’t gotten responses. These were emails to Gary Marcus, Alicia Andrews, Dr. Elise Sobol and Luke Dubois.

I heard back from Gary Marcus who is only available after Christmas so we are going to schedule a meeting in the beginning of January to talk more about his research and his experience. This conversation will be really helpful in understanding a perspective of psychology and his experience of learning an instrument at the age of 40. This will be good because it will prepare me for what I will see in my diary studies.

Alicia Andrews replied to me and I set up an Observational tour of the Lucy Moses school for December 9th and it gives me the opportunity to talk to her farther.

Dr. Elise Sobol hasn’t replied to me and neither has luke dubois.

I also made progress in some of my longer readings like Guitar Zero and Late Bloomers.

--

--