Week 5 Progress

Sophie Lowen
Pre-Thesis
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2021

This week I spent a lot of time setting up my organizational practices so that as I read I am able to keep track of everything and absorb as much as possible.

I first started by setting up my Zotero account. I hadn’t heard of Zotero until class on monday and now I love it. I think it’s so cool that it can keep track of my readings and annotations and then allows me to directly cite in my documents later. I set up a folder for thesis and broke down my topic into smaller folders. These folder’s will probably change but they are what I think are important for now.

After setting up my Zotero library, I added the plugin to my chrome browser so that as I look at articles I can add them to my library.

I then started on my guided research plan for the next few weeks and I picked up from where I left off in class but instead of using miro I moved it over into Google Sheets. I decided to do this because I find using text in Miro really annoying and since this plan will probably change and adapt as I continue my research I want to be able to use text easily.

My research plan can be found here.

The next thing I did was I started collecting resources and finding some secondary sources. I started on Google Scholar and got some good resources but ran into some issues when I tried to access some case studies in the International Journal of Music Education. I then decided to switch over to NYU Libraries databases and was pleasantly surprised to find the exact article I wanted access to in the journal in the database.

I collected some great resources on learning acquisition for older adults and now have a list to start reading this week as well. I aim to read at least three of these articles before the weekend.

There is some incredible research from the journal of psychology and the Journal of Music Education that I think will benefit me greatly to read this week in the start of my secondary research exploration.

--

--