Photo by Valeria Boltneva: https://static.pexels.com/photos/87584/pexels-photo-87584.jpeg

A Note To My Students

Andrew Robinson
Precarious Physicist
1 min readJan 31, 2017

--

On Travel Bans, Bigotry and Discrimination

After the weekend’s news of travel bans in the USA and the terrible news of the terrorist attack on worshippers in a mosque in Quebec City, I feel compelled to write something to my students. I am speaking for myself, but I know the sentiment will be shared by many of my colleagues, here in Canada and elsewhere in the world.

I value you all, equally, regardless of race, religion, sexual orientation or any other classification.

I will do my best to give all of you the best possible education that I can.

I will be there to help you, should you need it.

I will not allow hatred, bigotry and despair to change what we do, and the way we behave towards each other.

I will always speak out against injustice and oppression, wherever it is found.

Andrew

--

--

Andrew Robinson
Precarious Physicist

Physics Teacher at Carleton University ; British immigrant; won some teaching awards. Physics Ninja Care Bear; Baker of Cakes; he/him