Electric Vehicle Chargers Are Baseball Gloves

The ball is the car

Joe Thomas
Predict
Published in
4 min readJun 3, 2022

--

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

Father’s Day is coming up, which always makes me nostalgic for the days when me and my dad would play catch in the warm months. I grew up in the 1990s. My idol was Ken Griffey Jr., and my team was the Seattle Mariners. Whenever me and my dad would play catch, I’d always tell my dad to throw the ball just out of reach so that I could run after it and dive for it. I wanted to make epic catches the way Junior did.

I still have my baseball glove from high school. It is still in ideal condition for making epic catches. I put a lot of work into breaking that glove in and making it comfortable and easy to catch with. Any baseball player will tell you, breaking a glove in and making it ready for play is a methodical and in some cases a superstitious endeavor similar to a hockey player taping his stick in the right way.

Now over 20 years later, I haven’t thrown a baseball in months, but I keep thinking about the cadence of playing catch as I go back and forth between charging locations in Colorado. I’ve noticed that there are a lot of interesting parallels between playing catch in baseball and charging my electric vehicle.

Imagine for a moment that you are watching a baseball game, and a ball is hit into right field. The runner on first rounds second and sprints to…

--

--

Joe Thomas
Predict

EV traveler, writer, futurist. Author of The Wealth of the Planet, While We Were Charging, and Martian Economics --> https://a.co/d/3z6f4CC