It’s Electric

Robert Rittmuller
Predict
Published in
6 min readSep 21, 2018

--

An interesting glimpse into the brave new world of electric cars…

It was 3:00am on a weekday night and I wasn’t sleeping. Too much caffeine, or maybe it was just the weather. Who knows. But there I was, seriously considering the potential effectiveness of counting sheep when my phone screen lit up with an unexpected message. “Lightning”, the given name of my Tesla Model 3, was alerting me that it had a software update. Staring at the message, seriously conflicted, I wanted to just dismiss it and deal with the update later….But there was this tiny urge, an urge that built up quickly to the justification that doing the update now made the most sense. Down the stairs I went, into the garage with phone in hand.

Welcome to life with a Tesla, complete with software updates at 3:00am.

The day I picked up my Tesla I had no idea what to expect. I had never owned any form of electric car and had only the knowledge imparted to me from the various sources on the internet I had managed to dig up. Very little what I had read online really talked about what it was like to actually live with an electric car as your primary vehicle. Plenty of folks had views that clearly indicated they were using their Tesla (and other makes of electric vehicles) as a commuter car or secondary transportation which really did not help me. I wanted to know…

--

--

Robert Rittmuller
Predict

A devout technologist, I write about AI, cybersecurity, and my favorite topic, photography. https://www.rittmuller.com