Life on Mars? Meh.

Discovering life on another planet may turn out to be no big deal

Debbie Patskowski
Predict

--

Photo from NASA on Unsplash

As I’m writing this on February 18th, 2021, NASA’s Perseverance rover is getting used to its new surroundings after successfully touching down on the surface of Mars. Scientists will use the rover to look for evidence of life on the red planet and secure samples to return to Earth for more testing (hopefully). Accompanying Perseverance is Ingenuity, a robotic unmanned rotocraft. So yeah, space helicopters are a real thing now.

I’m really excited about what Perseverance will find. We’ve been getting closer and closer to finding evidence of life on Mars. This mission feels like it might be the one to actually do it, but also I’m preparing myself to be let down. Not that I have any doubts about what NASA is doing, but I’m prepared to be disappointed in my fellow human beings if they actually succeed.

If NASA finds evidence that life used to exist on Mars, most people on this planet aren’t going to care.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Some people won’t believe it because of religious considerations or other reasons. Some people won’t have any reasons at all. We live in an age of conspiracy…

--

--

Debbie Patskowski
Predict

Geoscientist, runner, and writer. I will never stop being curious about the world.